I’m riding the Tour de Brooklyn!

So I knew the Tour de Brooklyn was gonna open up for registration today but there wasn’t an official time. Since there wasn’t really an official time I just kept checking my emails for one from Transportation Alternatives telling me the tour was open. FINALLY the email came… but DAMN IT I could NOT get on the freaking Tour de Brooklyn website! I had like three different kinds of browsers open with three different tabs IN EACH BROWSER and the things just kept spinning and spinning and spinning and nothing was happening! 404 and all that. This went on for like 25 minutes! I was HOT! Then I was disappointed cause I thought I wasn’t gonna be able to register before all the spots filled up. Then I was HOT again! UGH! I wanted to GOOOO, especially since I chickened out last year. This woulda been the time that I woulda just called my mom and asked her to see if she could get on the website from her computer but she’s out at sea at the moment on a cruise. So I called my best good friend Emmy. (Shout out to Bubba, Forrest’s best good friend… and shout out to Emmy!) She was able to get on to the website for me from her house and registered for me as I relayed my address and other information to her over the phone.

So I gots me an email confirmation and I’m officially riding the Tour de Brooklyn on June 3rd! WOOOOO HOOO!!!

Which really is only 19 days away. So I’ve got to get my riding up until then. And a new bike seat.

Also, I had big plans to eat dinner and then go to the gym tonight but after dinner I could barely get my ass up off this sofa. How do people work out in the evenings??? How how how? I never in a million years thought I’d be a morning person… and really I’m still NOT, but I would rather get up at 5am, workout and get it over with, than to attempt to get my ass off my sofa to go to somebody’s gym or even pop in a DVD after I’ve worked all damn day and dealt with the horrors of NYC commuting. Please.

I also had big plans to cook my shrimp and orzo salad tonight but I had to stay a little late at work and THEN President Obama killed my commute home because he was speaking at the Barnard College commencement, and they had Park Avenue completely blocked off, and the traffic was insane. I ended up getting off the express bus and getting home so late, like 7:30. That is usually the time I EAT, not start cooking. I didn’t want to start cooking that late because I end up rushing it and didn’t want to ruin my shrimp. I’ll try again tomorrow, making sure to leave work on time and possibly take the train instead of the express bus which gets me home faster. I’m off Thursday and Friday so I can always make up some time at the gym on those days. These kinds of unavoidable commuting issues is part of the reason I like to do all my cooking on Sundays because things like this come up and kind of put a monkey wrench in my planned meals for the week.

I’ll revamp some things, and then go to bed. I’m gonna try to get in an extra half hour of workout tomorrow morning since I’m not going to the gym tonight.

Leave a comment